The executive director of the Violence Policy Center, Joshua Sugarmann, was the keynote speaker at our Americans Against Gun Violence first annual dinner on October 22, 2017. (Click on this link to read Mr. Sugarmann's speech.) In addition to co-authoring numerous reports with his colleagues at the VPC, Mr. Sugarmann is the author of the 2001 book, Every Handgun is Aimed at You: The Case for Banning Handguns, and the 1996 book,  NRA: Money, Firepower, and Fear. 

In Every Handgun Is Aimed At You, Mr. Sugarmann wrote:

America's gun lobby would be on the run, if only the gun control advocates would bother to chase them. Instead, trapped by their perception of the politically achievable, gun control advocates are always on the defensive....They nibble around the edges of half-solutions and good intentions dramatically out of sync with the reality of gun violence in America.

We founded Americans Against Gun Violence in 2016 in part because we believed that Mr. Sugarmann's statement was still true at that time and that our country needed a new organization that would put the gun lobby on the run; that would change the perception of what kind of gun control legislation is politically achievable in the United States; and that would advocate definitive solutions to ending the epidemic of gun violence in America.

The goal of the VPC's 2019 Youth Against Gun Violence Scholarship Film Contest is to give voice to teens facing the reality of gun violence and to help support the growing movement among young people to reduce gun death and injury. The contest, open to high school-age students 14 and older, will accept submissions until April 15, 2019 through the VPC's contest website. Videos should be no more than three minutes in length. Winners will be announced on May 15, 2018. The first-place winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship, the second-place winner will receive a $500 scholarship, and the third-place winner will receive a $300 scholarship. Click on these links for full contest details and for a downloadable flyer in PDF format.